Driving while intoxicated,also known as DWI,OWI and DUI,is a serious offense everywhere in the world. In the state of Texas,you can expect serious penalties if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated.
There are state troopers,sheriff’s departments and police departments that patrol all the highways,roads and streets in the state to ensure there are no drunk drivers. If you are pulled over and found to be intoxicated,you will be charged with a DWI. Read on to learn more about Texas DWI laws.
Definition of Intoxication
Anyone who is found to have a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher is considered to be intoxicated,so they can be charged with a DWI if they were driving a vehicle. If you are found to have difficulty with your motor functions or reasoning due to alcohol consumption,or use of any other type of drug,you can be charged with a DWI.
Also,if you are under 21 years old,you can be charged with a DWI if you are found to have any amount of alcohol in your bloodstream while driving. If you are a commercial driver,you can be charged with a DWI in Texas if you are found to have a BAC of 0.04%,which is half of the legal limit.
Texas DWI Penalties
If you are charged with a DWI for the first time in Texas,but your BAC is less than 0.15%,you will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor,which may incur a fine of up to $2,000. You will also spend a mandatory 72 hours in jail. If found guilty,you may be incarcerated for up to 180 days.
Your license may also be suspended for up to a year. If your blood alcohol concentration is found to be over 0.15%,you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor,which carries a penalty of up to $4,000. As the severity of the offense increases,so does the severity of the penalties or punishment. Work with a criminal defense lawyer for the best chance of avoiding these negative repercussions.