Like every other state,California has strict laws pertaining to intentional torts. The common torts include domestic assaults,car accidents that are due to reckless driving,use of defective products,and animal attacks. Whenever you suffer an injury in the state of California because someone was negligent or intentionally acted inappropriately,the law allows you to file a legal complaint against the offender.
To ensure that you are successful,there are a few basics of the California injury laws to know,even if you work with a attorney:
1. There’s a Time Limit for Filing an Injury Lawsuit
You may not be aware but there is a time limit for filing injury lawsuits. The principle applied is called the Statute of Limitations and it is usually:
â¢ 2 years from the time that you got injured,or
â¢ 1 year from the time that you realized the injury
Failure to observe the Statute of Limitations means that you don’t stand a chance in court.
2. You Have to Prove Negligence
Negligence is the principle applied to show that someone else is primarily to blame for the injury sustained. It’s mostly defined by a breach of Duty of Care and proof of economic loss.
3. You Can Share the Fault
If you had a small contribution in the accident that led to the injury,the principle of Comparative Negligence comes into effect. So,you’ll only be offered money with respect to what percentage the other party contributed to the accident. For example,if the total loss is $100,000 and your share of fault is 30%,you’ll be offered $70,000.
When you know the California injury laws better,it becomes easy to use the statutes to your advantage. Work with ahttp://eradicatingecocideincanada.org/california-drunk-driving-statistics/ to ensure that you get fair monetary compensation for all losses suffered—medical expenses,lost wages,physical pain,mental distress,and others.